Arduino to gps?

I am a big noob when it comes to the rtk and configuring all this. I hope someone can help me out here. I also have no idea what to get for a gps. Thank you!!

1 Like

My recommendation would be an Ardusimple Long Range starter kit.
It comes fully programmed and is plug and play, the only issues is you will have to mount them in your own enclosure.

The Rover will go into your tractor and can plug straight into your Laptop USB for signal and power.
The Base station can be installed on a tripod in your field or anywhere line of site really such as your Barn roof.
I have my Base station on a tripod because we have a far distance between our fields. I also power my base with a 20,000mA usb power bank, this is good for over 48hrs.

IMG_20190113_090950 IMG_20190113_091023

4 Likes

It depends how far from the base you have fields.
3-5 km from base to rover is maximum for Ardusimple Long Range
15-20 km from base to rover is maximum for NTRIP.
I think most users use NTRIP caster.

How much do you guys have in your systems? I thought these systems were cheaper?? I’m look for the cheapest system as possible. I’m new to all this and I am grateful or the imput I just thought these systems used rtk gps? I never heard about these base stations and rovers

The amount you spent really depends on what you want to achieve, if you only want guidance then its a laptop and a GPS receiver.
At a guess I’ve probably spent $1,000 USD (not including laptop) and I have centimeter accurate autosteer with section control. Comparing that to OEM systems it is exceedingly cheap.
You can spend less to get autosteer but as the costs goes down you need to be able to DIY things alot more such as using an old drill motor for steering, using only 1 GNSS receiver and NTRIP from a public CORS.