Articulated 4wd tractor settings

I’m setting up my second system. My first was on a Kubota M-120 and it works like a dream! Thanks Brian and everyone else!

I’m now working on a Case 9330 4wd. I’ve got everything installed and I took it out for a drive yesterday but I couldn’t get the steering to settle down. It kept oscillating. I think I have my counts per degree wrong, I plan to fix that today. My question is about the Ackerman setting. I know there won’t be any Ackerman on an articulated tractor, so does that mean I set it to zero?
Running version 4.3 by the way.

Leave ackermann at 100 %
What is the volt reading from WAS at full right and full left?

I have yet to test the WAS voltage. I had just set the counts with the “wild guess” method.:slightly_smiling_face:
I was planning on actually measuring my turning angles today.

@Larsvest Thanks for the Ackerman answer!

did you mount the WAS on bottom joint?

decrease the gain, it may be turning too fast, a 4WD is a very strange beast, I hope to do mine this spring. you turn and the front moves, but when you turn back the back end changes heading. it certainly isn’t like a non articulated.

@Mdmcurt has set it up quite well, perhaps he could add some advice.

1 Like

@BrianTee_Admin I hadn’t thought about mounting the WAS on the bottom, I put it on the top where it was easy.:joy:

Makes sense it wouldn’t move as much with bumps and rolls on the bottom. Luckily I mounted it on a bracket with some high strength magnets so it wouldn’t be hard to change.

As for that @Mdmcurt guy we are friends and neighbours so I know he doesn’t know anything! :grin:

1 Like

@BrianTee_Admin
Since the rear changes heading as you say, would it make sense to mount the CMPS to the back of the tractor instead of the cab? I’m not using any IMU yet, but I have a CMPS. I thought I would wait for version 4.6 to try it out. Seems like it will be more straight forward to get it working then.:slightly_smiling_face: