Base Station - Communication Issues F9P via UDP

Hi there,

I’ve been chipping away at this project now for a few months and have been able to get the communication between the rover and base station with RTK fix, through the SNIP caster. My problem begins with the communication between the base station and SNIP.

I’ve attached a picture of the base station set up I am currently using. This is a V4.1 board with an F9P (loaded with V1.32) and a Teensy. I am able to connect the F9P directly to SNIP through the micro USB, but unable to get anything through the ethernet port.

My main question is if this is the correct hardware for the job? Or is the all in one board plus teensy specifically for the rover. I have searched through the various forums and found numerous solutions. My goal is that I have something that communicates to the caster over ethernet / UDP. Would a PI be a better option for not wanting to be connected to a laptop full time? Or will this create further problems?

1 Like

Not really… Buy an standard f9p, and then either use a pi or ethernet or wifi ntrip master to send RTK to snip.

The simplest is either ethernet or wifi master

The pi has many more features, you can send to several casters or set up your own and is cheaper.

What you’re doing now works, but doesn’t work great… : ) The AIO was made for the rover

Great post, lots of stuff here.

In your picture the F9P is receiving 3.3v power from the 3.3v vregs that are connected to 12v on the Ampseal. The USB plug connection is straight into the F9P pins. The Teensy is not doing anything useful for you in this picture, and the ethernet port is connected to the Teensy.