Beginners Tutorial/Guide

Hi All. I am brand new to AgOpenGPS. I think its a wonderful idea. I have downloaded and installed the latest version (6.0.9) however I am really struggling with getting things going. I am simply trying to familiarize myself with the software in simulater mode. I have managed to create a field but for the life of me cannot figure out how to create AB lines. etc. and actually “drive the field”. None of the icons have tooltips or indicate what they do and the help simply points to this site. Is there an actual fairly comprehensive tutorial/begiiners guide that walks through the software and how to create fields/maps/AB Lines, etc.? (beyond the beginners guide thread that basically says download and install the software, create a a field and create your machine).

This

And if you click the ? at the top of most of the windows, then some random button, it should pop up a help window. Definitely not all the buttons have the help window, but they can be really helpful.

I feel your pain. I have been using it off and on for 5 years, and every time I use it, I wish the buttons had written labels or a pop up flag with a 1 or 2 line description.
The real answer though, like with a lot of things, is just practice practice practice.

So I have used the ? button and it described about 1/2 the buttons. But again I simply cannot figure out how to get simple AB lines on the field. I was able to find this Boundary Tool window which says to draw AB lines on the boundary…but then does nothing at all. Please help anyone know how to get AB lines?

Kazam_screencast_00000.mp4.zip (8.4 MB)
Download and extract. I wasn’t sure how to send screen recordings on here.
The first method shows how to make off a and b. Second off boundary.
Let me know if that doesn’t work.

1 Like