Can We Have Pinned Posts?

Is it possible to pin posts?

It is said that AOG is written by farmers, for farmers so let’s imagine a complete beginner; a traditional farmer who is smart, self reliant, handy and motivated. Reads about AOG in a farming magazine, wants to build it, ends up here.

Basic questions:

1. I want to build a PCB for the latest version of AOG? Where do I go, what do I buy, where do I get boards printed?
  2. How do I set up a base station / rover config over either flat ground with good line of sight or undulating land with very poor line of sight?
  3. What is the best mechanism to attach PCB to steering wheel, where can I get the parts for this?
  4. How do I configure and control sections / tools?
  5. If I have a floating cab, where do I attach the IMU and with what wires and connectors?

I am helping a couple of farmers with a couple of builds and these are the questions they ask.

There are some excellent videos, documents and tutorials available out there, but for a first time builder coming here, where do they start?

2 Likes

Just saw your post from a couple of months ago, and I couldn’t agree more. The traffic on this group looks as if it has gone vertical lately which is obviously a good thing, but, if I were just finding this group now and wanted to get started I wonder if the sheer volume of posts would be helpful or overwhelming. I wonder if contributions should be “tagged” about their content as well as just included in the broad category, sometimes a topic starts as something and ends up something else after a few posts, this makes it difficult to search for relevant threads sometimes and you can miss some really interesting stuff. Especially now that its getting harder to simply read everything.

2 Likes

There doesn’t appear to be the will to organise this which is understandable if people are busy with other things, but does prevent many farmers from getting involved.