Guide to RTK Setup

Hi all, this is my first post here and I look forward to contributing in future however as I’m new to this I’m going to need some help to start.

I’m an electrical engineer and farmer so while I’m not new to tech I’m new to building a positioning system.

I’ve looked through here and while there are hundreds of posts on various RTK configurations I’m wondering has anyone come across a post that gives a general overview guide to getting a fully functioning RTK system operational. Our farm is based in ireland and is spread out over various locations so transmitting correction signals via radio most likely won’t work so I’m looking to setup the following:

-RTK base located on home farm
-Rover obviously on tractor
-transmit correction data over wifi

Main questions I have is:

-hope to use learn spark fun f9p boards or other (open to suggestions) so what exactly do I need part wise- I’ve read ground plane etc. On base station. Is there anywhere I can obtain an exact parts list, and guide to setting up - configs, requirements for sending correction data over wifi rather than radio, etc.

Thanks in advance for any advice/help.

Ardusimple have tutorials and ready made base configuration files. Most often you need to tweak settings a bit yourself, like measurement rate and which messages to use.

Do you have good wifi coverage? Radio might be simple for decent coverage but if you want to use wifi, I’d build an NTRIP caster runing on a laptop and the base F9P connected to that computer.

The small ANN MB antenna needs a small ground plane.

How is your cellular coverage in Ireland? I use 4G in the states to send my corrections via NTRIP and RTK2GO.

Hey, thanks for the comment. 4G coverage is good, at least where I am.