Initial Base Station, NTRIP and Rover Setup- Beginners Guide

While its fresh figured I would pen this post for others using search terms I used and found very little. Also added to my draft Dummies guide located on google drive at AOG Dummies Guide Google Drive

Disclaimer: This is what I went through, your situation might be different. I am not a technology expert by trade, so this is a dummies guide, written by a dummy

I had some frustrations while setting up my Ardusimple receiver as a base connected by USB to a computer. Got it all configured as per the guides, but then ended up not working at all, and getting myself banned a couple times. Figured share some points for others in my shoes.

For those of you who want to get going right away. I also found you can ignore the point in ardusimples setup guide where it says mount your antenna permanently then leave it. Let’s face it we all want to try this gear out right away. My base antenna is currently on a 3ft tall stick in my sidewalk garden blocked on probably 270deg!!! It still got enough of a signal to allow me to set things up and try it. I am glad I did not spend hours mounting in the perfect spot before testing. 1 thing to remember is when you do move it to it’s permanent home. Make sure you reset it to survey with tightened settings, so it reestablishes its fix.

Tried sorting this a bit cause it got quite long:

Setting up your Base:

4 Points with Video
  1. Ardusimple offers config files and guides for base and rovers on their receivers, make sure you do this. One step is updating the firmware. I had issues with one of the 2 receivers I had and couldn’t update the firmware. Found out that if you downgrade ucenter to an earlier version 21.09 I think it was, it worked fine.