Manual steering without disconnecting motor

Hello,
I’m new to AgOpenGPS and just ordered some components, but until now just played with simulator mode. I want to try using a DC motor connected to the steering wheel with some gears. I wonder if I always have to physically disengage the motor from the steering wheel if I want to turn it by hand, for example if there is a tree in the field or if I want to turn manually on headlands. Am I right, and would there be any possibility to achieve some kind of auto-disengagement?
Greetings from Germany
Bennet

That depends on the motor and motor driver.
A motor with a low reduction gear set and a motor driver that not shorten the motor if disabled results in low “friction” => usable.
Too many gears in the motor or “wrong” motor driver, and it gets harder.

Also the motor driver has to be able to let the motor coast.

I ordered the Cytron MD13S motor driver. I understand that the motor has to be free to rotate when autosteer is turned off. But how does AgOpenGPS know that I turn the steering wheel? Do I have to manually turn autosteer off? It seems pretty easy when you use direct control of the orbitrol, but that wont be possible for me.

Not quite relevant to the question, but I saw the new greg system (Farmtek) which piqued my curiosity. What technology can be used to detect user grip? I have another electric motor application where it could be useful …
You can see it in action here:

I know that more expensive motor servos like the ClearPath motors can give you that kind of information.

hub drive - just an idea

You should always be able to turn by hand. For that, the Cytron is 2nd best. Better choice is the IBT2 which can set both half-bridges tristated. Although easily possible to detect (WAS input != PWM output), I know no solution for an automatic disable.

more likely: large hollow shaft ultra low speed disc DC brushless motor motor Flat thin Multipole with Hall