New user questions

Hello,

New user here based in Cornwall, UK. I live on a livestock farm with mostly grassland, and work for a contractor in the summer doing mostly grassland work. I’ve been using FarmerGPS for a few years, but not moved onto AOG as well as some android apps.

The main jobs I use the guidance for is spreading fertiliser, chicken manure and for parallel cut ins mowing and raking. Since its only on grassland, i’m not fussed about rtk or autosteer, and I’m just using an ublox usb gps receiver from eBay. I am using the software as a record of where I’ve been as much as guidance.

While I am very grateful for the hard work that Brian and the team have done, the software feels very… windows 98. Some of the android apps out there are much nicer to use, just lack the features. I know implementing new features and doing them in different ways needs a lot of buttons and menus, but it seems the way its laid out isn’t very intuitive. In FarmerGPS, you could show or hide different buttons, and customise the sizes, which I miss in AOG. I don’t know a lot about open source software and coding, but is it something i can alter myself? I only really have experience with xml from modding Farming Simulator. There are also some buttons and features that i’m yet to work out what they do. Could the ‘Button Functions v4.0’ section of the wiki be updated as some of the numbers are still blank.

I would possibly be interested at some point in automatic section control of the implements. All the implements I use are controlled by the tractor spool valves to lift/open/spread and my tractors have manual spools not electric. Is there any way AOG can control these?

Great to see an active online community and i’m looking forward to future updates and using AOG.

Sam

Welcome Sam,

I am also from Cornwall UK, and was also a long time FarmerGPS user before AOG.

Feel free to check out my project below:

Also on youtube (darrenjlobb)

What tractors etc do you run?