Ntrip uk

Just wanted to open a chat with the British users here if that’s ok?

I’m still fairly new to all of this and have got a rover working pretty well as a stand alone unit with neither base station, nor NTRIP.

The BS is something I will look into in due course, but I’m confused about NTRIP.

The concept is simple, coordinate correction over IP from a known fixed base. My problem is that I’m on the east coast of Yorkshire, England and the nearest publicly available stations are over 100 miles / 160KM from me.

With a fibre connection this would not be an issue, but over a 4G (presently, 5G is just on the horizon here) does anyone know whether:

A) There are any NTRIP nodes on the east coast of England? I’ve tried OS and came away even more confused.
B) What network throughput makes NTRIP viable? If the WAN connection is flakey, is it even worth using NTRIP,

Actually, a more basic question:

C. Is it worth using NTRIP if you have a local base station, does NTRIP offer any benefit?

To answer question C: Even with a local base station, you could use ntrip to transport your correction data from the base to your rover. A lot of people with their own local base station use a 900 MHz or similar radio but both are just a means of transporting the correction data. It’s more of a question of whether your base station location has a reliable internet connection and whether your mobile data is also reliable enough. Distance from the base to your furthest field is also a factor, using mobile/cellular ntrip can usually go further.

1 Like

http://monitor.use-snip.com/?hostUrl=rtk2go.com&port=2101

Click view all and see what’s near.

Setting up your own base I see really easy if not.

Joeseels ans er polybell are probably your nearest. Possibly too far away TBF although we have tested bases over 150Km away and run most of the day on them.

Network throughput is low for Ntrip.

A base will cost you a receiver and an esp32.