PID for Danfoss proportional valve

So, after a lot of headache (our fault), we got AgOpenGPS working on my friend’s JD 7530 Premium. He found AgOpenGPS in a Google search, and contacted me since I have some experience in electronic engineering. The 7530 is Autosteer ready, and we reused the Danfoss proportional valve already on the tractor. An IBT_2 is controlling the valve, using the fix provided by the coffeetrac repo, as described here.

The problem we have is that pure Proportional is not working accurately. If we turn the Proportional up quite a bit, the steering overshoots in a consistent manner. If we turn the Proportional down, the steering won’t ever reach the line (setpoint). We tried the latest beta 4.2.01, and see that the Integral has been removed from AgOpenGPS. We went back to the latest stable release, and implemented the Integral in the Nano’s code, looking off of a PID library. There was an immediate improvement in the steering.

Now we would like to implement the Derivative yet, probably by reassigning the output gain to the Derivative of the PID control. Hopefully in the next few days we will report back on the success of this test.

What I’m wondering is, why was the PID control never fully implemented? Are we the only ones affected by this problem of using a proportional valve? Lack of time / knowledge / need for PID control? Would PID control be of interest to the AgOpenGPS community?

1 Like

I have this problem also…and am also currently working on implementing full PID control… id be interested to follow your progress…

I’ve been helping Darren with this issue, there’s a couple of reasons that you’re experiencing this issue as I understand it: