Roll Compensation

Hi,
I’m just getting into setting up a guidance system using an Ardusimple simpleRTK2B, with the view to possibly going on further with RTK and Auto-steer, for now though guidance is perfectly fine.

I have been out testing this afternoon, I found the flattest piece of ground on the farm and all was going well, I was very impressed with the pass to pass accuracy of the system and the software was working perfectly (once i had the board programmed correctly). Although even on this flat ground there was still an incline of around 5% with variance across the field. When travelling next to a previous pass in the same direction as the pass it was fine, the wheelings lined up brilliantly. Although, when travelling back the opposite direction to the pass the lines were offset by about 40 cm. I am pretty sure this is due to the roll of the bank, because the spacing between all the rows going east to west are correct and constant and the same for the reverse direction. It was even more noticeable where the slope altered half way along the pass, where I presume the rocking effect of the tractor caused the lines to be tapered.
IMG_1384
In the background the ground slopes down to the right and in the foreground, down to the left.

I was wondering if someone can suggest the best way to get simple roll correction without spending the extra money for dual antennas. I was going to use an MMA chip but I’m unsure how to connect it to the AOP software. I cannot justify spending the money to build the auto-steer PCB at the moment until I have proved the concept.

Hi,
Do you have an imu like the bno055 installed? The Imu can give you some troubles in hills. Maybe try without.
Did you messure the height of the antenna and set it in vehicule setting?
For the roll you have more options, mma8451 or DOG2 MEMS. For the mma you can just solder the I2c connections to the nano, scl to pinA5 sda pinA4 of the nano and power it up.