RTK Base station radio coverage in hills

Hi,

I am new to agopengps and am thinking about setting up a system in time for next spring. I farm organic in a rather hilly part of the country. I would be installing autosteer on various IH tractors such as the 756 826, and maybe a case IH 7130. I would like to use a hydraulic steering block so as to keep the operator station nice and uncluttered.

My main question now is as to an rtk base station. I would like to use an rtk base station with a radio link to the tractors. being as my ground is quite hilly, i forsee difficulty in getting a good radio link over all the hills and down in the valleys, and would like to not rely on cellular internet for the rtk fix. with that background, here are my questions.

can i put multiple base station towers around the farm (¼-½ mile apart) and will the tractor system use eithier or both as needed, or will the multiple radios interfere with each other? I suppose i would be using an xbee radio or whatever else was working for other people in this example.

can i use some other radio link that was better? (such as a a TNC and some FM 2 way radios?) can i run the xbees or similar radio through some repeaters and get good coverage that way?

basically the questions boil down to; what can i do so that i have a good radio link to my rtk base station on a farm that is RF challenged.

thanks!

~IHTractor

3 Likes

Lower frequencies will work better but seeing as your bases would be close together, you could run a mesh network with Digi SX (Ardusimple LR but with different settings/firmware).

Do you know what you local regulations are for frequency and power output?

Do you have a central hill that might cover everything?