RTK with no base station. I am clueless!

Hi, I’m new here so please forgive me if this is not the appropriate way of writing this.

I’m very new to the GPS scene and want to try improve the system i was advised to use.

I have an old android tablet with “SixtyFive” app as the map screen.

The app itself is ok, very basic, which suits us fine.

I was advised to purchase a garmin glo as a receiver, which connects via bluetooth to my tablet. The accuracy is nowhere near what it needs to be (not surprising).

I would like to know how I can connect to this via RTK using something like the F9P without the cost of setting up a base station.
I have tried to research and just can’t get my
Head around what i need to actaully do, in order to get an RTK signal.

Just to be clear, this is purely for guidance, no autosteer (yet)

The answer that you don’t want to hear is that you can’t have RTK without some kind of base station that is within ~50km of your position.

That base station can be

• Your own base station
  • A neighbour’s base station
  • Some stranger’s base station that you found on n NTRIP caster like rtk2go
  • A government base station, like a US State CORS network
  • Some virtual base station that has been calculated for you on some server that has a bunch of real base stations feeding data into it

That base station may be accessible over radio, internet, satellite, the transportation layer doesn’t really matter.

I think the issue that you are experiencing is probably that your Garmen is an L1 only receiver. You want an L1/L2/L5 receiver and RTK.

Thank you very much for your reply.

The problem is the guidance will be used for mainly contract work and doesn’t suit for me to have a base station as i will be far away from it.

If i bought the F9P and didn’t utilise the RTK signal. Would I experience better signal than I currently get?

Thanks again