Claas Axion 800 with steering wheel motor

Thought It was time to start writing up my project now that I have it working as well as if not better than a commercial system.

Please bear with me as it’ll take a little while to get this written up properly so will be editing it over the next couple of days (weeks?).

Bit of History…
I farm 1200 acres of rolling Lincolnshire Wolds land which was purchased in 2013. I used to work as an IT manager before coming back to my farming roots so I understand technology although I’m not a professional programmer by any means.

GPS…
I have been running two John Deere 1800 screens with 3000 receivers and 200 ATU’s. Both units are about 5 years old and on honesty generally work well. I had enquired about replacing the units for newer touch screens and receivers and was quoted circa £8k per unit installed. This is for the basic starfire reception although it did include section control.

AOG…
I stumbled on AOG about 1 year ago and thought ‘that looks like a good idea’. I finally did some proper reading and research this January / February '21 and decided to build a system for a newly acquired Claas Axion 800 New January '20.

I’ll try and break down my project into sensible modules:

RTK Base Station:

Hardware & Firmware
I bought an Ardusimple simpleRTK2B receiver and Survey GNSS Multiband antenna from Ardusimple. I also acquired a standard ESP32 Development Board.

I flashed the ESP32 with Ardusimples NTRIP Master software. This software is designed for their XBee sized ESP32 board which if you want the easiest life Id suggest purchasing as it requires no guesswork and wiring but it does cost a lot more than a standard ESP32 but we still talking peanuts here.

The Ardusimple Git Hub page has all the resources and instructions you’ll need to get the software onto your ESP32. Read it all here.

The simpleRTK2B was flashed with Ardusimples BASE configuration file. get all the resources and instructions here.