Cloud Solution for AgOpenGPS - Seeking Feedback and Ideas

Hello Everyone,

I’m a backend developer with a keen interest in precision agriculture, IoT, and cloud technologies. I’m considering starting a side project to develop a cloud solution for AgOpenGPS, primarily to learn more about these technologies and product development. I also want to create something that can actually be used and provide value to others in this community.

Here are some initial features I’ve thought of:

• Field Management: Users will be able to manage their fields from a web browser, and AgOpenGPS will be able to access this data.
  • Configuration Management: Users will be able to save and load their configurations to the cloud.
  • Concurrent Operations: Ability to display real-time paths from other machines or stations.

However, I’m very interested in hearing from you! What features do you think would be most valuable? Are there specific functionalities you’re looking for in a cloud integration? Please don’t hesitate to share your thoughts and ideas right here.

One consideration is the cost associated with cloud infrastructure. I’m thinking about ways to distribute these costs among users who opt in.

What do you think about this proposal? Looking forward to your feedback!

3 Likes

All sound like good ideas, and even a low cost subscription would soon make up the hosting costs I’d think. Support of these back ends tho, where would that come from?

Or are you planning self-hosting solutions, like a docker image perhaps ?

A lot of us have a pi sending RTK to the web… Neat to use that with a hard drive or something.

1 Like

I’m a web developer. Tell something new.

I think a management app/program to run on the office computer is a great idea.

All sound like good ideas, and even a low cost subscription would soon make up the hosting costs I’d think. Support of these back ends tho, where would that come from?
Or are you planning self-hosting solutions, like a docker image perhaps ?