CORS vs Personal RTK Base Station

I’m new to the RTK game and currently have an account to use the CORS network to get my feet wet. It’s free and I figured it’d get me started at least.

I have a base station that’s 20-30 miles away from me and have a couple of questions:

1. Distance from base station effects accuracy, does it also effect the ability to get a fix (speed, reliability, ect)

2. Is CORS update frequency fast enough or what other advantages is there for going the DIY way?

For this reason the RTCM corrections are only valid up to a distance of 35km from the Base Station (some people say 25km, some people 50km, the exact number will depend on the antenna and receiver quality)
From Ardusimple website

If it works ok I would keep using it. My area doesn’t have CORS, so I don’t know a lot about it, have my own base.

1 Like

Update frequency from CORS is likely the same as most of us use for a private base.

Fix time and position accuracy degrade when the distance to the base increases but 20 miles should be OK.

Thanks guys!

Distance aside, do RTK corrections have an update frequency? I was reading that John Deere was 1 second or less which I assume can make it more accurate? I would expect this with either a paid service or DIY but not ‘free’ like CORS.

I can image if I had my own base station I could send/receive data as fast as I want? The CORS network I currently have access to says 5 seconds I believe. That is if I was actually looking at the right thing.

Pretty much every RTK source is using 1 second update rate (for the delay sensitive messages). A higher frequency would not improve accuracy. This is different from the rover position measurement frequency which should be 10 Hz and higher would be at least a bit better if supported.