DIY Grain bin monitoring system and fan Control

There are commercial systems available but I wonder if someone has already built this kind of system.
What kind of sensors are needed?
Especially for reading grain moisture.

1 Like

I use the DS18B20 1 wire sensor, it’s what they use in OPI commercial systems so I can read their sensors too. I read them with a 5v Arduino which reports to my own custom Perl server which uses RRD Tool to save the data to a RRD (round robin database). This has run for several years now.

About 1.5 years ago I started playing with Node-Red and MQTT. I use NodeMCU (ESP8266) wifi boards to connect via MQTT with Node-Red which handles all my automation. Another great benefit of MQTT is that I also have a nice control interface on my phone to control most aspects of the fan system. I have a personal weather station that reports outdoor temperature and humidity for my automation which can operate in 4 different modes (manual, warming, cooling or drying). Warming & cooling use temperature only and drying uses humidity & temperature to calculate how much more water the air could hold and it adjusts my fan speeds accordingly.

The two systems (bin temp & fan control) are for practical purposes, seperate from each other in that they don’t talk to each other or share data.

I’ve found my sensors are not quite as interference resistant as the OPI ones, I have not figured out the difference. I think I see a small SMT passive component on the OPI sensor ropes but I’m not sure what they’re doing there.

I designed the bin temp monitoring system before I knew about MQTT, otherwise I’d use that instead of my own custom protocol for sending data.

I can read the OPI moisture sensors but I have not figured out how to convert the readings into grain moisture values.

What else would you like to know?

Edit
Should add that Perl scripts also generate html and graphs for displaying the bin temps on a web server.

5 Likes

Yes I am thinking doing the same.