Interested in AOG, but need some guidance

Hi everyone. New here and am kinda lost amongst all this. So total noob to guidance and auto steer. But trying to get our farm a little more efficient so guidance and autosteer seems to be a logical step. System would mainly be used for seeding and tillage. Came across this and heard it may be a little more economical.

So thinking of starting off with guidance similar to a light bar with the ability to upgrade to auto steer in the future. Is that doable with this? What would I all require to do that?or would I be better of to go guidance with autosteer right from the get go?

What is the general cost of a fully functional auto steer system with electric motor driving the steering wheel? Would need a tablet too, not sure what to get there

are parts to be had pre assembled and ready to go? Or is it order everything and solder together on your own?

Is rtk necessary or is that an upgrade for down the road when I’m more comfortable with all this?

Pretty much looking for simple and easy lol I’ll learn complicated over time. If that’s possible. And sorry for all the questions, probably just a lot I don’t understand right now.

The first thing you got wrong is that it isn’t a little more economical. It is an order of magnitude less expensive. :grinning:

You can try guidance without autosteer, just download the SW and run it on a suitable computer (a few threads here talk about different Windows tablets or laptops). Purchase a GPS receiver like Ardusimple SimpleRTK2B. RTK capable and future proof.

When you decide to upgrade to auto-steer, you need some additional HW. Several HW options exist and you can purchase ready made circuit boards or you can purchase a plain board and solder components yourself. Obviously the more you do yourself, the less expensive it gets.