Is it safe to communicate through CAN BUS on a pre equipped tractor?

Hi All,

I am new to CanBus and I am gathering information here and there because a friend of mine asked me if I could have a look at his 3 year old Massey Ferguson which, he said is pre equipped with auto steering. The tractor is supposedly equipped with the appropriate components to be driven by an MF GPS system but it has never been used on this tractor.

On telegram I have been warned I could damage the steering valves if I just plug and command the steering system with AGopenGPS on its CanBus version. I actually already built a Teensy based card from Common Rail’s PCB but did not plug it into the tractor.

Before I do something wrong, I want to ask you if it is doable. Can I run AGopenGPS CanBus version on a tractor which is pre equipped but on which it has never actually been used ?

Thanks,
Fab

It’s doable. Plenty of folks here on the forum have done it.

I’m skeptical of claims you can wreck the steering valve by sending bad commands. I don’t physically see how it’s possible for one, and for two CAN and CAN devices are designed to be very robust and fault-tolerant. Both to electrical problems (shorts, etc), and data corruption issues (wrong messages, bad values).

I had one situation where something I did was pulling the CAN voltage down too low and that might have caused my ancient brown box Deere monitor to fail. Or it could have just failed from old age. And of course a wiring harness could have rubbed through somewhere, shorting the wires together as well and I wouldn’t expect ECUs to die from that, so I suspect the failure had nothing to do with what I had done.

Obviously the manufacturers are going to say that connecting to the CAN bus will void warranties, burn your tractor to the ground, damage the engine, cause hair loss, etc. They have a vested interest in keeping you out of the machine that you bought so they can cash more cheques.