Question about steering wheel control

Hi there. I’m a fellow farmer from Romania, turned recently into farming after 10 years of software engineering. Running a 6210R here at farm. As I’m looking into autosteering, I have identified the two trouble points for which I’m trying to find a solution. First would be the wheel angle sensor for which I suppose at the end I will retrofit the John Deere’s one since it already has the foreseen position on the wheel mechanism and for which I have the manual. The second point is of course the steering wheel control. I cannot seem to find anywhere here on forum a procedure or tutorial for building the mechanism. Moreover, I see on YouTube various setups like the following one: AgOpenGPS V4 : premier tour de Volant , first trial steering wheel #Shorts - YouTube which seem to include some nicely 3D printed components. Could you kindly guide me where I could get - it they exist - the STL files for such pieces or at least a link some sort of description for a mechanism to connect the motor to the steering wheel? Thank you.

Hello, i can make you a 3d model for printing vor CNC machining but i need the measurements of the wheel and the console wäre the stearing wheel is mounted

I wan

1 Like

this is mix of 3d parts and steel parts it is related of you motor drive line …

project is not finished yet but initial topic for idea …

when you disassemble the steering wheel and initial cover:
you see this
DSC_0628

disassemble the two screw and cut the plastic ( thanks JD designer!)
DSC_0628o (2)

fix bracket with original screw
DSC_0628o (3)
reclosed the cover and refix the sterring wheel and result for fixed bracket

DSC_0628o (5)

assembled steering parts with M5 bolt

DSC_0628o (6)

to git this result DSC_0628o (7)

next will be motor bracket when i more confident of my design

if you want full plastic that i check before

3 Likes