Repeated crashing when loading kml-file

Hello,
I’m very new to all of this, and attempting to load a .kml file into AOG. Drew a simple polygon geometry in QGIS (as this is how we will proceed in our project), successfully exported it as a .kml file. Then, upon loading and saving it, AOG keeps going non-responsive/freezes. Any things I need to be aware of? Thank you. Koen

Have you tried with Google Earth created KML? From recollection the XML is parsed “manually” and possibly there is some nuance about the KML GE generates vs QGIS. Perhaps post a short example KML that causes a crash so people can take a look.

Hi, thank you for your response.
no I haven’t tried the Google Earth approach (as many state it is not very accurate I thought I’d go to importing from QGIS directly) Will try GE first thing this evening, maybe I better take it one step at a time to become familiar with the process. Not quite sure what you mean by : posting a short example kml…do you mean read the kml’s code in python and post it here? If so I will have to look into that (as you can probably tell: total noob here on the subject)

By posting an example I simply mean a .KML file created in QGIS that causes your AOG to crash… no code required :slight_smile:

[Note to myself- consider GitHub - samcragg/sharpkml: SharpKML is an implementation of the Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) KML 2.2 standard developed in C#, able to read/write both KML files and KMZ files. if there are issues with current code]

From the very big field (in red 17068,17 Ha) I think the position in not set to your place.
Find settings at top left and set Sim cords.

1 Like

You are right that is big. Weird because the shape I drew was about three times the size of a a rugby field only. Should’ve noticed that… Also thanks for the hint, will check this out

I’ve seen someone upload a .kml by appending it with .txt, so I did the same hope it works…
AOG_TestField.kml.txt (1007 Bytes)