Teensy + F9P GPS + IMU Setup

Hi All,

I am new to AGOpenGPS and this is my first build. I purchased a F9P and all was well. I noticed that when I was stopped the screen would still move just a bit. I read that if I add a IMU this should reduce this. I used the image in the Autosteer build to attach a Teensy 4.1 and imu bno085. I uploaded the [Autosteer_gps_teensy_v5.ino.hex] file from
AgOpenGPS_Boards Teensy.
Once I had all of this completed, whne I connected it to AgOpenGPS nothing would work. The USB was plugged into the Teensy (I got a new Com Port from the old F9P.) In AgIO the GPS was red then green then red. It switched back and forth. The data was blank. I unplugged the Teensy and plugged the F9P in only, then the GPS started working. I checked all of the wires and they all seem to be connected properly. I can only think the Teensy program may be an issue. I read the forums but did not read anything about this.

These are connected via USB only. No UDP in my build.

Parts:
simpleRTK2B (ZED-F9P)
Teensy 4.1 no Ethernet
Adafruit BNO085 (IMU)

Any help would be great.

1 Like

It could be because the F9P is not configured right on Uart1 with the right messages and baudrate.

First I must admit I use udp!
I have the same parts in one of my panda systems. I use the schematics from AIO board, where single rover f9p is connected to teensy 28 and 29 ( f9p tx1 to 28 and f9p rx1 to 29)
I am not sure if teensy program does autoswap
between rx2/tx2 (pin 7 and 8) and rx7/tx7 (pin 28 and 29)?
You only connect one usb to computer from teensy and that should give green on IMU and GPS.
Autosteer demand an autosteer board with ads 1115 (or an ads1115 connected to teensy tx4 rx4 REMEMBER level converter between ads with 5v and teensy 3.3 v

But teensy only output panda if it have a proper gps signal.
So check baudrate from f9p to teensy as noted in post above.

Hi,

I’m using the same setup teensy USB, F9P and adafruit BNO085 without any issue.