Xbee LR and ardusimplertk2b Range Test

I was hoping to get away with only having a base station and getting enough coverage for the correction signal with the xbee radios. Our location is very flat and the tallest point is the silo at my parents farm. turns out I better order the XLR version as the LR only has 20mw and the XLR can have 1 Watt. What I probably should have done is just order 3DR radios to make the connection, that would have been cheaper but not as clean to set up.

hopefully this is helpful for some of you,

3 Likes

Maybe optimizing the LR setup would help to enhance the coverage. The silo seems to be a great starting point for an RTK base. However, I would use a high-gain antenna for the base. Reducing the cable length between Xbee radio and antenna may also help. (coax attenuation can greatly reduce your coverage)

For my base station in Europe I am using this antenna I have been using this setup for several years now in an environment with more trees, without issues.

Thanks for the input.
I did use a good quality coax ( 15 ft Low-Loss Coaxial Extension Cable (50 Ohm) SMA Male to SMA Female Connector, GEMEK Pure Copper Coax Cables -) hoping that would help the loss.
The idea was to get make it easier to get the antenna higher, and make it easier to Waterproof. I might have to rethink that.

With your setup can you get good signal 2-4 km away through bush? I would be surprised with only 20mw signal.

European regulations don’t allow higher transmit power. (XLR is not available for Europe) In a challenging environment it means everything has to be optimized. Your cable is nice, but shorter is always better, and being on top of a silo, more height will not add much.

The rover antenna should also be on a high point, testing inside a car may not be ideal. ((fresnel zone)

Normally I work within a 2 km distance from my base, but I don’t have a silo. My base is mounted on the roof of my house and surrounded by trees. base (1)

1 Like