Base station setups

Hello i am new to AgOpenGPS, i am currently studying the RTK part. I am going to install a base station in my farm because i no longer want to rely on the providers to save subscription costs and to have independence since my provider offers a terrible service.

I decided on going for the ardusimple starter kit with LR radio, later will upgrade the ANN-MB basic antenna for the survey antenna. I have 2 fields separated by 5ish km so i think it is more than enough.

So i made this post to see your base station setups, i want to invest a bit and build a high quality structure and wanted to get some ideas…

Thanks

I don’t have an RTK Base but I found this nice guide that’s very informative. Hope it helps:

1 Like

Your own base station is the way to go if you don’t live somewhere where there are free ones. The price dealers charge for one year you can have your own base station and money in your pocket.

I used the wifi ntrip master to send the correction signals to rtk2go.com and then back to wifi though a router in my tractor. Many people use their phones as wifi hotspots to do the same thing.

There are quite a few people using radios as well and I think they work good but I have no experience with them. I thought about going with them but wifi was cheaper and more familiar for me .

A permanent place for your antenna is important. If your antenna moves all you lines will move as well. I used the survey antenna but I think the magnet one is fine.
It’s best to survey your base station in and write down and save your coordinates. That way your corrections won’t change if your station loses power.

2 Likes

Is there any alternative caster to who i can send corrections via esp xbee ?

I’m doing it allready to rtk2go , but i whant to add another xbee to send to another caster.
So when one stops just switch in tractor to other one

Is there much difference in price on this setup over the f9p with the ntrip master