Getting started with PCB hardware for beginners

Hi all,
I’m a newbie I guess, though I have read 1000’s + of posts in Combine forum. I have had no trouble downloading the software, plugging it in to my Greenstar GPS system and using/playing with it for coverage and guidance.
The area I am struggling with is the hardware side for Autosteer. I wish to install it on one of my older Tractors eg JD8300.
Is this the basic procedure? After downloading and extracting the software from github

1. Decide on Hydraulic or Wheel Motor system.
  2. Find Gerber files in PCB folder of Github download and send them to a PCB manufacturer.
  3. Find PartsList.xlsx in PCB\AutoSteerPCB_Gerber and send/upload to BOM Manager
    (Bill Of Materials) at DigiKey. As per FarmerBrianTee Video
  4. Order Non Digikey Specific parts from “PartsList” eg. “Arduino Nano v3” from Ebay or Preferred supplier.
  5. Wait anxiously for parts !
  6. Place and Solder PCB parts to PCB board. Place PCB in Box
  7. Open AutosteerPCBv2.ino in Arduino IDE. chose/change ino settings as per FarmerBrianTee Video
  8. Compile and upload Sketch to Arduino Nano eg. AutosteerPCBv2.ino
  9. Connect/Mount to Battery, PC, GPS and external sensors eg WAS “wheel angle sensor”
  10. Connect motor Drivers to steer motor or Hydaulic valves.
  11. Setup Machine, Fields, AB lines etc. in AgOpenGps. as per Video tutorials
  12. Calibrate as per AgOpenGPS Wikki
  13. Turn AutoSteer ON and we are good to go!

I know this is very simplified, but is it in the ballpark? what steps have i missed?

4 Likes

You can do a very simple basic setup before you start with that pcb…

Arduino Nano, a connector board, Wheel angle Sensor and a Motor driver (take a cytron). + phidgets Motor.

But I together and learn from it in your office.

Then put it on your tractor.

You can build that pcb after it and use all the parts and you can add sensors for heading, roll…

2 Likes