A rookies road to auto steer on a JD 7510

First of all thank you so much to @BrianTee_Admin and the rest of the development team as well as all you regulars on the forum. If you haven’t replied to me directly to help, I would bet I’ve found some of your posts helpful at some point during my searching. Such a cool community. This is not something I ever thought was feasible for a smaller farmer like myself, and it has been an incredibly satisfying and fun project to work on. Prior to beginning, I would have called myself a complete beginner so I hope I can give some hope and help to others who are in those shoes.

I did start quite a while ago and not being confident in my skills decided to keep my investment small and continue to get the more expensive components as I got things working. I ordered the V2 boards and all the little components, as well as a phidgets motor and a land rover WAS and was thrilled the first time I had them hooked up on my desk and moving with an old laptop I had around. It was a huge confidence booster. @wilberttalen and @darrenjlobb, your YouTube videos were tremendously helpful, thank you guys.

Next I ordered a Panasonic tough book off of eBay and splurged for the most expensive component, the ardusimple LR base/rover kit. The GPS part of this was overwhelming to me but it really shouldn’t have been. I realize I was hitting the easy button going with the ardusimple kit but to the other beginners out there, it was worth the money and I had it up and running with an RTK fix in one evening of messing with it and now it’s pretty standard on the new AIO boards anyway.