Getting ready to order parts

I am new to all of this, so first off thanks for all the help and time you all have put into building AOG!
I have spent days reading and trying to understand the basics of AOG and I think I’m gaining! I want to put autosteer in two tractors this winter (identical systems) but have a few questions to start. I should add I live in Colorado (USA) in the mountains so there are some line of sight issues between fields. This has me questioning the effectiveness of RTK base station? Possibly NTRIP?

1. What would be the best PCB to start for only autosteer? I see the PCB v2 is the most popular, but I am curious if there is any benefit to going with the AIO (all in one) board? To my understanding the all in one has the IMU sensor built in? Is there any other components built in that will simplify/cleanup overall install?

2)Do I need to look into NTRIP being I have geography blocking line of sight between fields? If so would the AIO be better?

3)Steering motor… I am torn between the KEYA motor and the Phidgets 3269-3.

*Other Components I plan to use are FZ-G1 tablet, Ethernet connections, delphi ER10014 or Land Rover RQH100030 WAS, Emlid M2 for RTK base, any advice would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like
  1. You should definitely go for an AIO board. They are the most up to date and have many more features than the V2. I believe a V4.4 has been released or will be released soon. The IMU is not built into the board. You still need a few components to add such as a teensy 4.1, Cytron(if you use phidgets), BNO085(IMU), and F9P(micro or standard dependant on PCB choice).

2. The XBee radios are only line of sight. So NTRIP is probably best if you have consistent cell coverage.

3. The difference between the Phidgets and Keya is mostly personal preference. The Phidgets aren’t quite as clean of an install but they are cheap. And the Keyas are quite expensive but they look to make a clean install.